Generating Class Types..

Feb 13, 2009 at 5:30 AM
Hello All- with one hand on SICP and another on my shaky c# experience(my background is primarily in java and lisp) I've been playing around with the DLR.

As a whole I think I understand the expression trees and the binders..but I'm having some trouble understanding how to most effectively(and simply) handle extending clr types. Outside of looking at IronPython and IronRuby(both of which seem much to large to serve as a simple example), does anyone on this list have any suggestions or simple examples? Something that could bolt onto Toyscript or something?

thanks
Mike Kohout
Coordinator
Feb 13, 2009 at 5:22 PM

I think the answer depends on what you mean.  If you mean deriving from a clr type, ipy does have scheme for consing and sharing derived clr type objects for getting better interop effects and indirecting to the py dynamic types.  I don’t recall the details, but if this is what you want, Dino could point you to the right code in ipy.  If you mean simply adding members to clr type objects or instances of clr types, then ipy won’t help you since they leveraged precedent in python to forbid extending clr types with dynamically added members.  I think Ruby supports this, and if this is what you want, Tomas can probably point you at his tricks for doing that.  There are the obvious wkptr tables mapping instances and types to extended members, but I’m not sure if there’s something more clever or support in our codeplex internal scope objects for these sorts of language-specific extensions to types and instances.

Bill

Sent: Thursday, February 12, 2009 9:31 PM
To: Bill Chiles
Subject: Generating Class Types.. [dlr:47024]

Hello All- with one hand on SICP and another on my shaky c# experience(my background is primarily in java and lisp) I've been playing around with the DLR.