Calling LambdaExpression recursively

Jul 10, 2009 at 4:56 AM

I am new to DLR. I would like to know how to construct a lambdaexpression for recursive call. The C# equivalent of the function looks like:

public static int factorial(int n)
        {
            if (n > 1)
                return n * factorial(n - 1);
            else
                return 1;
        }

The following is the code that I attempted to construct dlr tree version:

ParameterExpression input = Expression.Parameter(typeof(int));

var test = Expression.GreaterThan(input, Expression.Constant(1));
            var exit = Expression.Label(typeof(int));

Expression body = null;
            var lamda = Expression.Lambda>(body, input);

body = Expression.IfThenElse(
                test, 
                Expression.Return(exit,
                    Expression.Multiply(input, 
                        Expression.Invoke(lamda, Expression.Subtract(input, Expression.Constant(1))))),
                Expression.Return(exit, Expression.Constant(1)));

Now the trouble is if I create body first, I have to pass an unassigned lamda variable; if I create the lamda first, I am using an unassigned body. So I am in a chicken and egg scenario. How do I get out of this? Thank you.
Jul 10, 2009 at 7:24 AM
Edited Jul 10, 2009 at 7:59 AM

You're just not thinking 4th dimensionally!

Quoting Back to the Future is especially sweet when it's actually topical.

This is untested, but it should work:

let input = Expression.Parameter(typeof(int))

let test = Expression.GreaterThan(input, Expression.Constant(1))
let exit = Expression.Label(typeof(int))

let recursive_lambda = Expression.Parameter()

let body = Expression.IfThenElse(
                test, 
                Expression.Return(exit,
                        Expression.Invoke(recursive_lambda, Expression.Subtract(input, Expression.Constant(1))))),
                Expression.Return(exit, Expression.Constant(1)))

let lambda = Expression.Lambda>(body, input)