DLR Limits on Language Implementation

Nov 20, 2013 at 11:56 AM
Hi everybody,

I'm newbie here in programming language implementation. I would like to know limits of DLR while being used for language implementation. I have a specific question which asked on stackoverflow, but no answer yet. So I wanted to open this discussion to figure out what is beyond DLR.
Coordinator
Nov 20, 2013 at 7:33 PM

Hi, roodya. I'm including your text from your post here to merge:

"Typed" so that the correct method can be selected based on method signature and the compiler can do some sort of type-safety (Not necessarily 100%) as well. And "dynamic" so that every variable can change its type runtime. Now my question is that is it possible to implement this kind of language by using DLR.

Since all DLR languages (about which I heard) are dynamic and also they don't have access modifiers (public, protected, etc), I'm thinking whether DLR is a good platform that the language can be built on. Any answer/suggestion/comment is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Considering the interoperability with .NET, my question is that is it possible to implement such language by using DLR? And how much effort does it need? Is there any other better option?

You can use the DLR for this. Enforcing types is your choice in what code you emit (that is, what Expression Trees you generate, which can be statically typed). The DLR should give you some lift to make it easier. Please see the overview paper and the Sympl example, docs on the codeplex docs page.

Cheers,

Bill

Nov 21, 2013 at 2:12 AM
Thank you Bill,