SecurityException instantiating a type defined by a script running in sandboxed AppDomain

Jun 2, 2011 at 5:49 AM

Hi all,

I'm currently trying out the DLR with IronPython -- in particular I'm trying to prototype a scenario where a user defined (and therefore untrustworthy) python script defines a class which extends a class/interface in the current Assembly, which can be instantiated and interacted with via a reference who's static type is that of the original interface/class. I've sandboxed the ScriptRuntime in its own AppDomain, unfortunately I can't seem to get it working with anything less than a completely unrestricted permission set. The example I'm working with is basically cobbled together froma couple of other examples I found elsewhere:

I could be doing something blatantly wrong here -- I'm a complete noob at just about everything involved here -- but any help would be greatly appreciated:

Code looks like:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Reflection;
using System.Security.Policy;
using System.Security.Permissions;
using System.Security;
using System.IO;
using Microsoft.Scripting.Hosting;
using IronPython.Hosting;
using System.Runtime.Remoting;

namespace python_in_appdomain
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            Remoting();
        }

public static void Remoting()
        {
            AppDomainSetup setup = new AppDomainSetup();
            Assembly thisAssembly = Assembly.GetExecutingAssembly();
            setup.ApplicationBase = Path.GetDirectoryName(thisAssembly.Location);

AssemblyName name = typeof(IFoo).Assembly.GetName();
            StrongName sn = new StrongName(
                new StrongNamePublicKeyBlob(name.GetPublicKey()),
                name.Name,
                name.Version
            );

PermissionSet pset = new PermissionSet(PermissionState.None);